11 Years of In/Words, pt. 1

From: Myths of the Body by Kyrie Kristmanson (In/Words, 2008)

croak

This is how we sing
She says to the class
Breathe into an O
Then let sound ride your breath!

But my breath is studded like a pit bull’s collar;
it barks out the kinks in my joints.

Still I’ll try imagining an orange in my throat
while singing mee may ma mo moo.

She tells me to
Stay after class
Do it again!
This time opening all your orifices
to the possibility of song!

I should tell her to consider the frog
who inhales a perfect circle
through ever pore
but still only sings one note

Leave a Reply

